Here’s to Never Saying Goodbye

Standard

T-11 days: Hello all! As promised, here is my new blog where you will be able to follow all of my adventures in Morocco. While I can’t make any promises about the frequency at which I will contribute to the blog (apologies for those of you that followed my France blog–or, should I say, the lack of my France blog. . . .) I do promise to keep you updated on major events, random happenings and little tidbits that I find interesting (first tidbit I’d like to know: how much does a camel really cost? what could one barter for a camel? why do I find dromedaries so interesting??)

As a reader of my blog, I would like to forewarn you that I was not an English major in college and therefore I will excessively use ellipses and parentheses to express my point. Hopefully this will neither surprise or upset the true Strunk and White within you (bought the book,  never actually opened it). Also, as many of you know, humor and sarcasm are two of my favorite ways of expressing myself (just ask my mother) so I sincerely hope that reading about my many adventures, misadventures, fortunes, and misfortunes will bring tears of laughter to your eyes and have you thinking, “did she really just say that?” (to which the answer is almost always a resounding “yes”). And let’s be real here, along with considering myself to be a true comedienne, I also like to think that my head is full of profound thoughts and delightful little insights which I feel necessary to share with all of you regardless of whether or not you actually care to hear them. And finally, many of you may not know this about me, but I am a collector of quotes–profound things I’ve heard people say and have written down, favorite lines of books and poems, and hilarious things said on The Office–so get ready to be inundated with what I consider to be others’ infinite knowledge and absurd hilarity.

Alright, enough with the formalities. As part of my first blog post, I wanted to try to convey to all of you what I’m feeling before I leave my homeland for two years and how I’m preparing to go. To be completely honest, I’ve been really excited to leave for a long time now and while I can confidently say that I’ll probably be shitting my pants when I finally get on the airplane, for now at least, I’m just going through my usual routine, taking care of the little odds and ends that need to be done before one leaves the country for two years, and spending my last days enjoying the company of friends and family. I think that’s all one really can do before taking such an extended leave of absence.

Many of you keep asking me where I will be living while I’m there (which I don’t know), what exactly I’ll be doing (not really sure about that either) and whether or not I’ll have internet and electricity (again, no cigar). The next question that usually follows is, “doesn’t it worry you that you have no clue what you’re getting into????” And my response to that is no. No it doesn’t worry me. Frankly speaking, if it did worry me then I probably wouldn’t make a very good candidate for the Peace Corps. If there is one thing I am 100% confident in, it’s that I haven’t the slightest clue as to what will happen to me when I’m there. What I do know about the next two years, is that I don’t really know anything about the next two years. And in some strange, kind of twisted way, I’m ok with that.

Now remember earlier when I mentioned that I’m obsessed with quotes and collect them? Well here’s one quote that I hate: you know in movies when the main character is about to go off and do something incredibly large and profound and meaningful with their life and someone says, “this is the first day of the rest of your life”? Well I hate that. Life has already begun, hasn’t it? Haven’t I been living my life for the past 22 years? This is not the first day of the rest of my life–this is the next step. This is day 8,165 of my life and when I leave for Morocco it will be day 8,176 of my life. Which leads me to another quick point: people always think that when you go abroad like this that you’re leaving your life at home and will return to it when you get back. The only thing I can say to those people is how wrong you are. Life is you and everything surrounding you and happening to you. You cannot leave it behind.

So enough with the deep thoughts. To end, I’d like to make a toast (which may be quite à propos considering I might not be drinking much in Morocco . . . ): Here’s to continuation. Here’s to the next step of my life. And here’s to never saying goodbye.

One response »

Leave a Reply

